President Donald Trump signed an executive order Friday to establish the American Technology Council (ATC), which will coordinate how the Federal government should modernize its IT systems and how it delivers digital services.

Chris Liddell, the White House director of strategic initiatives, will be the council’s director. The members of the council include Trump, Vice President Mike Pence, the secretary of defense, the secretary of commerce, the secretary of homeland security, the director of national intelligence, the director of the Office of Management and Budget, and the U.S. chief technology officer. The council will last for four years.

The White House Monday released the text of the executive order, which said that the director of the council could invite agency heads with key service delivery programs, and the heads of those programs to attend meetings on a rotating basis.

The council will coordinate the Federal government’s use of IT and the delivery of services, and advise the president on IT policy decisions. The council won’t make decisions about systems that relate to national security.

The director of national intelligence can provide access to classified information on cybersecurity threats, vulnerabilities, and mitigation procedures to the ATC.

The White House is also inviting industry leaders from Silicon Valley to a summit in June to obtain ideas from the private sector. About 20 technology company CEOs will spend half a day in working sessions, according to reports.

Read More About
More Topics
Morgan Lynch
Morgan Lynch
Morgan Lynch is a Staff Reporter for MeriTalk covering Federal IT and K-12 Education.