The Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee voted on October 6 to advance three Biden administration nominations to the Merit System Protection Board (MSPB). The committee’s action sends the nominations to the full Senate for consideration.

The MSPB is an independent, quasi-judicial agency in the executive branch that serves as the guardian of Federal merit systems to protect against partisan political and other prohibited personnel practices.

The board has lacked a quorum since 2017 – and has been devoid of members since 2019 – which has led to a current backlog of about 3,400 cases for the board to consider.

The nominations approved by the committee are Cathy Ann Harris, as chairman;  Tristan Leavitt as a member with a  term expiring in 2023; and Raymond Limon with a term expiring in 2025.

Sen. Gary Peters, D-Mich., chairman of the committee, and Sen. Jacky Rosen, D-Nev., said each of the nominees was well qualified, while Sen. Rob Portman, D-Ohio, ranking member of the committee, said he did not support the Harris nomination

Read More About
More Topics
John Curran
John Curran
John Curran is MeriTalk's Managing Editor covering the intersection of government and technology.